E2180 overclock success on Asus P5LD2 v2

Sorry for the lack of updates recently– I’ve been busy, to say the least.

Anyway, last night I finally found some time to crack open the E2180 that was still in its UPS box. I stuck it in the Asus P5LD2 box that I have laying around (most of the owners of this exact board should know exactly what I am using it for 🙂 ) After a couple minutes of tweaking, it’s sitting at 3.2ghz. I haven’t spent too much time trying to max the clocks, but I do know that at 3.4ghz the setup wouldn’t stay on reliably– perhaps the chip is asking for more voltage, but I am unwilling to give it more than 1.4v

It is running at 3.2ghz stable. I am sure the chip can do much better in a more recent board, such as the 650i board I have sitting in the box still. But at $90, even if the chip is only stable at 3.2ghz, I’ll be OK with that. 🙂

Update: The system primed overnight at 3.2ghz at 1.3v VCore– going to try with less voltage tonight.

Even though this isn’t quite as fast as my Q6600 @ 3.6ghz, the E2180 was also less than 1/3 the price– and at 3.2ghz, it is definitely offers more than 1/3 the performance. A LOT more.

3 thoughts on “E2180 overclock success on Asus P5LD2 v2

  1. I tried the same with an e6400 on the same board. I am not familiar with AMI bios. I chose AI ‘manual’ overclocking raised the FSB to 360 but I don’t know what to else should be modified (DRAM? I have Corsair DDR-667).
    When I boot, my SATA drive is not recognized (only IDE). When back to BIOS default it is ok.

  2. Hi Laurent,

    Try your FSB at 350– Your SATA went out of whack because this board does not have PCI freq lock. You may also want to set your PCI-E freq manually at about 118.

Leave a Reply

